DUPAGE WATER COMMISSION

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT

ORGANIZATIONAL DESCRIPTION

I. ORGANIZATION, PURPOSES, AND POWERS.

The DuPage Water Commission is a county water commission, body politic and corporate, political subdivision, and unit of local government existing and operating under the Water Commission Act of 1985, 70 ILCS 3720/0.01 et seq., and Division 135 of Article 11 of the Illinois Municipal Code, 65 ILCS 5/11-135-1 et seq. (collectively, the "Act"). The Commission was created under the Act to finance, construct, acquire, and operate a water supply system to serve municipalities in the territory of the Commission (primarily DuPage County, Illinois) and other potential water purchasers. The Commission may exercise all powers, functions, and duties of a commission created under the Act, as now or hereafter amended, including, among others, constructing and operating a waterworks system; providing recreational facilities on its acquired properties; issuing revenue bonds to carry out its corporate purposes and powers; establishing rates and charges for water supplied; condemning private property; and taxing property and transactions within its territory.

Responsibility for the Commission's operating and financial policies is vested in its Board of Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners consists of: a Chairman, appointed by the Chairman of the DuPage County Board with the advice and consent of the County Board and with the advice and consent of the Board of Commissioners: one Commissioner from each of the six DuPage County Board districts, appointed by the Chairman of the County Board with the advice and consent of the County Board; and one Commissioner from each DuPage County Board district, appointed by majority vote of the mayors of municipalities which are "included units," and which have the greatest percentage of their respective populations residing within the respective districts. "Included units" are local governments with waterworks systems that have within their corporate limits territory within DuPage County, with the exception of the City of West Chicago and certain local governments which, as of the effective date of the Act, received more than 25% of their water from sources outside DuPage County. Commissioners appointed by the Chairman of the DuPage County Board and by the mayors of such municipalities, respectively, serve staggered six year terms with approximately one third of the terms expiring every two years.

Day to day management of the Commission's administrative and operating functions are the responsibility of the General Manager, who reports directly to the Board of Commissioners. The General Manager is responsible for all administrative functions, including hiring and supervising all employees and consultants, superintending all construction related activities, and operating and maintaining all facilities through the policies and directives of the Board of Commissioners.

II. <u>CONTROLLING BOARD</u>.

The Board of Commissioners:

James F. Zay Jr., Chairman

DISTRICT 1 DISTRICT 4

Jeffrey J. Pruyn, Municipal Philip J. Suess, Municipal Pavid Novotny, County Robert Gans, County

DISTRICT 2

Joseph J. Broda, Municipal David Van Vooren, Municipal

Diane Bouckaert, County James Healy, County

DISTRICT 3 DISTRICT 6

Joseph Fennell, Municipal Frank Saverino Sr., Municipal

Kathleen Rush, County David Russo, County

III. COMMITTEES AND OTHER ADVISORY BODIES.

Administration Committee: James Healy, Chair; Joseph J. Broda, Kathleen

Rush, David Van Vooren and James F. Zay, Jr.

DISTRICT 5

Engineering and

Construction Committee: Joseph Fennell, Chair; Diane Bouckaert, David

Novotny, Frank Saverino, Sr. and James F. Zay, Jr.

Finance Committee: Philip J. Suess, Chair; Robert Gans, Jeffrey J. Pruyn,

David Russo and James F. Zay, Jr.

IV. FUNCTIONAL SUBDIVISIONS.

The block diagram attached hereto depicts the functional subdivisions of the Commission.

V. <u>COMMISSION EMPLOYEES.</u>

The Commission employs approximately 32 full-time employees.

VI. OPERATING BUDGET.

The total amount of the Commission's operating budget, including budgeted capital expenditures, for Fiscal Year 2023-2024 is \$148,095,668.56.

VII. COMMISSION OFFICES.

The Commission maintains offices at the following location:

DuPage Pumping Station 600 East Butterfield Road Elmhurst, Illinois 60126-4642

The foregoing information is provided pursuant to Section 4(a) of the Illinois Freedom of Information Act, 5 ILCS 140/4(a).

